First Studio Recording!

One day, out of the blue, I had a Skype conversation with Enke. We hadn’t talked since my mission ended. In our catching up I told him that I had started writing songs. He had me play a few over the web cam. Apparently I had forgotten that he said he used to be a producer. We scheduled a day to record.

Yes! I was so excited to start recording my own song. On that Saturday we spent a few hours trying to record one song. I suddenly realized recording wasn’t one or two runs through a song. I tried explaining my vision for these songs to him. Nothing was sounding all that great though.

After probably three or more hours of trying with one song he asked what else I had. I played “Is it love?” He looked excited, I had a catchy tune. He toyed with rhythms a bit and told me to play it to a click track. I sucked at it. I could play and sing at the same time, but I was terrible at playing to the clicks.

After a few tries Enke had me play each chord out on the keyboard, he spent a couple minutes programming it into something I could sing along to. When it came time to record vocals, instead of setting up a sound booth with some foam and pillows in a closet, we threw a thick fleece blanket over my head and stuck my face right next to the microphone.

A few days later I got a call from Enke telling me that while working on the song he found a way to make it sound great. Moment of truth, drum roll. How would my first recorded and produced song sound? Is it love?

Leave a Reply

