The only true failure is giving up

I’m sure by now you’ve seen and heard a lot of people talking about their New Year’s resolutions; lose weight, get out of debt, eat healthy, never lie again, be nicer, etc. I’ve seen a lot of this over the years. It wasn’t until last year that I spent New Year’s with my wonderful girlfriend that she got me to look at it in a different light. Instead of setting unreasonable goals, why not use this as a good place to stop, take a breather, and look at where you’re going and how far you’ve come. Look at your life goals you may have set last year or in years past. Have you reached them? Why or why not? What are you going to have accomplished by this time next year? How are you going to reach that goal?

A lot of things can change in a year, most of which we can’t control, but that doesn’t mean it’s all out of our control. Last year I was working with my good friend and producer Robert Enke. We were recording pop punk music and trying to finish an album. Over the course of the year progress faded and eventually crashed. Who is to blame? We both are in multiple ways. I had set my own goal to release an album within the year, play 10 shows in Utah, 1 show outside of Utah, and hear my own song on the radio. I didn’t think Enke and I would stop working together. That doesn’t mean I stopped trying for my goals I had set. I just barely looked through and pulled out about 30 of my best song ideas I came up with this last year. That’s my 30 best out of a lot more. Sure, maybe not all of the ideas are radio worthy, but I still kept writing. I auditioned for and started singing for the band Geppetto, and we’ve started playing shows together. Nothing on the radio yet, I’ll keep ya posted. What I’m trying to get at is, for reasons out of our control we might not reach our goals, but as long as we don’t give up we won’t feel like we’ve failed. The only true failure is giving up.

This year, I hope to propose to my beautiful girlfriend and hopefully plan a wedding (shh don’t tell her). I would also like to release an EP, and who knows, maybe it could be a full on album. It would be great to hear a song I write or sing on the radio, but I won’t stop playing shows or writing new music. 

Leave a Reply

